Plan of Care

navigating through nursing school

too small a workload?

In my last two semesters of college, I’ve had courseloads of 22 credits for Fall 2009 and 18 credits for Spring 2010. This summer, I’ve got one class (microbiology) that counts for the current degree I am nearly complete with as well as my ADN, as well as two other courses, giving me a load of 10 credits, but hey, it’s summer and I’m going to be working six days a week (Sunday-Friday) as well.

So imagine my horror when I get my schedule worked out for Fall 2010 and discover that I only have a load of 8 credits.

And I do, in fact, mean horror. The best way to get something done, as many people including my father yesterday evening have said, is to give it to a busy person. I operate under momentum. The more I have to do, the more I do, and I never take breaks, because if  I stop it’s the next day before I get going again. I work through and work through and finish and then relax.

So what on earth am I supposed to do with no classes on Tuesday or Friday? Admittedly the classes I’m in are Anatomy & Physiology and Nursing I, neither of which are walks in the park, but suddenly I’m cursing the fact that my previous degree has me entering nursing school with more than half the classes done already.

I might need to take some non-required electives (that won’t even count for anything, as I have all my required electives done) just so that I don’t start failing exams because I’ve got too much downtime to remain able to retain information and stay focused.

“Too little work” is not a conundrum I ever thought I would find myself in. And yet, here I am, wishing I had a learning style that allowed me to sleep every now and then.

2 responses to “too small a workload?

  1. brandnewnursegirl July 5, 2010 at 1:22 am

    Oh wow, you are absolutely amazing. When I had 21 credits, I crashed and burned getting my first college C+ ever. I wish I was like you! So, you’re starting nursing in August and prereqs in May..huh, interesting. I am a transfer student to nursing, but I will only be officially starting in Sept. The only class I know I will definitely have for first semester is Anatomy and Physiology, which I am trying to “pre-study” for in the summer, since I am well-aware it is no walk in the park ;p.

    Good luck on your journey, and keep writing!

  2. nursekc August 9, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    I think you’ll be just fine… (Obviously, I don’t know this for sure because I don’t personally know you.) I say this because we take one 5-week nursing course at a time at my school, and I’ve had to take an extra class to finish up my biology requirements. I also have to work at least 20 hours a week. Anyway, I find myself longing for more time to study, finish reading assignments, write out flashcards, etc. I hardly sleep and usually forget to eat. I’m sure you’ll have plenty of work to take care of during nursing school – I know I do!

Leave a Reply

